Current Temperature


December 6, 2022 December 6, 2022

1958: County holds first council meeting

Posted on September 6, 2016 by 40 Mile Commentator

By Fred Mellen
Down Memory Lane #256
These items were taken from the March 20, 1958 issue of the Bow Island Graphic Newspaper.
– In this issue the front page featured pictures of the new County of Forty Mile Councillors and staff. Monday, March 17th was the first meeting of the County of Forty Mile from being the Municipal District. Dan Vandenberg, Reeve of the old MD was chosen as Chairman, with John Voss as Vice-Chairman. The Graphic Editor, Max Hamilton presented the County a proposition whereby each ratepayer in the County would receive the Graphic a a reduced rate.
Bow Island
– A social evening has been planned as a farewell in honor of Mr. and Mrs. Ed Francis in the Community Hall on Friday, March 28. It is expected to have a representative of the Provincial Gov’t., and the Town Council to make presentations to the family from the various organizations to which they belonged. Mr. Francis will be greatly missed by its club members as he was very active in Lions, Chamber of Commerce, Legion and Golf Club, he was also Secretary of the Rural Electrification Association. Mrs. Francis is a member of the Choir of St. Andrews and also President of the W.A. Ed is leaving to become Secretary Manager of the Legion in the Hat.
– Word has been received from Constable Doug Egan that he has been chosen as one of the men to train and ride this year in the famed RCMP’s Musical Ride. He started training on the 17th of March and their tour of Rides will begin July 1st in Swift Current. After the show in that Saskatchewan community they will travel to Calgary and Edmonton before making numerous appearances in B.C. at their Centennial Celebrations from where they will tour in the southern U.S.
– On Friday the Students Union at Gershaw High School held their elections of officers. Blaine Thacker of Burdett was elected as President with Don Hadnagy elected as Vice President. Frances Annon of Winnifred was elected Secretary Treasurer. Delores Hadnagy and Ken Tilley were elected Girls and Boys sports directors. Room representatives were also chosen: Grade XII Joe Lyczewski; Grade XI Phyllis Rasmussen; Grade X Howard Solverson; Grade IX Jack Kolody; Grade VII (south) Lee Taylor; (north) Wayne Olechowski; Grade VII Harvey Garrecht.
– A team of four students of the grade six class at the B.I. School challenged the Turin Wizards on the CJLH-TV program namely the A.B.C. Challenge on Wednesday afternoon but unfortunately were defeated. Participants included Marjorie Faris, Marlene McKnight, Priscilla Nishi and Sharyl Geldreich.
Foremost Section
– The regular meeting of the Elks was held in the Lodge Room on Wednesday with 35 members present. Eight rinks from Foremost were going to enter the Elks Spiel in Lethbridge last weekend. The Elks donated a $1,000 debenture to the Community Hall and it was decided to put new lockers in the Hall. The Elks discussed putting “Welcome” signs on the roads into town. A committee consisting of the Elks’ trustees was put on this assignment.
– The Foremost Students Union held their elections last week and Brian Parker was elected as President and Allen Kiffiak as Vice-President. Girl’s Sports Director is Faye Wolfe; Boy’s Sports Director, Gerald Douglas; Secretary Carolyn Follinglo and Treasurer who was elected at the beginning of the year is Beverly Parker. The executive will carry on through the summer.
Etzikom by Mrs. Grace Stromsmoe
– Mr. and Mrs. Leonard Johnson have opened their coffee shop here, no need to go hungry, steaming cups of coffee, delicious pies, hamburgers, sandwiches and light lunches are waiting for you.
This has been another stroll Down Memory Lane with Old Fred Mellen

Leave a Reply

Get More Bow Island Commentator
Log In To Comment Latest Paper Subscribe