Current Temperature


July 16, 2024 July 16, 2024

Who’s running, who’s not, and who’s sitting on the fence

Posted on August 22, 2017 by 40 Mile Commentator

By Jamie Rieger
The 2017 municipal election date is coming up quickly (Oct. 16) and people wanting to throw their hat into the ring have until Monday, Sept. 18 to submit their nomination packages.
County of Forty Mile reeve, Bryne Lengyel told the Commentator on Monday morning that he would be stepping down from politics (See story on Pg. 1).
After some consideration Coun. Joan Hughson said she would be running for another term, as did Craig Widmer and Gerald Reimer.
Couns. Chantel Timmons and Steve Wikkerink have both indicated that they are leaning towards running again, but have not yet made a firm decision.
Coun. Ron Harty did not return calls from the Commentator for comment.
Anybody wishing to run for a council seat for the County of Forty Mile can pick up a nomination package at the County office or download it from their website. If you require additional information on the upcoming election, please contact Carrie Hougen, Returning Officer, for the 2017 County of Forty Mile No. 8 Elections at (403) 647-1007.
There will be at least two vacancies for councilors in the village of Foremost, with both George Piper and Bruce Hillis not seeking another term in office.
Coun. George Piper, who has spent 43 years in local politics, will not be seeking re-election.
“I will not be running again this fall. It will be a scramble to fill the seat, but I have quit twice already,” said Piper.
Mayor Ken Kultgen has not confirmed yet that he will seek re-election, but said he will make his announcement on Sept. 17. Deputy mayor Lorne Buis also would not confirm his intentions.
“I think the four-year term we have now has people thinking a little harder on it,” said Buis.
Village of Foremost returning officer, Jennifer Hirsche said that as of Monday, Aug. 21 no nomination packages had yet been picked up from the Village office.
In Bow Island, mayor Gordon Reynolds has not made an official statement, but did indicate running again in an announcement at the St. Michael’s School graduation at the end of June.
Couns. Nan MacLean, Marj Moncrieff, Rob Ficiur, Kevin Davis, and Bernice Deleenheer have all indicated they would be seeking re-election, while Coun. Alan Hyland was still undecided.
Nomination packages for Bow Island’s municipal election can be picked up at Town office during regular business hours.
Prairie Rose School chair Stuart Angle (Bow Island ward) said he would seek another term, but there is a vacancy for the Etzikom ward as Kathy Cooper is stepping down due to health reasons.
For information on becoming a school trustee, visit

Leave a Reply

Get More Bow Island Commentator
Log In To Comment Latest Paper Subscribe