Current Temperature


May 21, 2024 May 21, 2024

Election race is on for council seats in Foremost, Bow Island

Posted on September 19, 2017 by 40 Mile Commentator

The election race is on in Bow Island and Foremost as nominations closed at noon on Monday, with 12 people running for a seat on Bow Island town council and seven for Foremost council. The list of candidates is accurate as of press time on Monday. Candidates have 24 hours to withdraw their nominations. Nobody contested any of the County seats and there are vacancies for two of the divisions.
Twelve people have submitted their names for Bow Island town council. They include, in alphabetical order, by last name:
Davis, Kevin
Deleenheer, Bernice
Ficiur, Rob
Harrison, Dave
Hildebrand, Ian
Hyland, Alan
Lyons, Louise
MacLean, Nan
Matz, Terrie
Moncrieff, Marj
Strom, Shannon
Tuchscherer, Lyle
A forum is being planned for Sept. 27 at the Multiplex.
Nobody came forward to contest the seat of mayor Gordon Reynolds, so he will retain his seat as mayor by acclamation.
Seven people submitted their nomination papers for the Village of Foremost council. Two serving councilors, Bruce Hillis and George Piper have announced they will not be running again. The candidates for Foremost council include:
Buis, Lorne William
Burton, Brent
Klatt, Blake
Kultgen, Kenneth
Ormann, Tyson
Payne, Stewart Thomas
Scratch, Rena
There are two divisions left with vacancies for the County of Forty Mile council after reeve Bryne Lengyel and Coun. Ron Harty announced their retirements.
Division 1 (Aden) – Hughson, Joan
Division 2 (Etzikom and Manyberries) – Vacant
Division 3 (Skiff)– Vacant
Division 4 (Orion and Conquerville)– Widmer, Craig
Division 5 (40 Mile Park)– Reimer, Gerald
Division 6 (Burdett)- Timmons, Chantel
Division 7 (Bow Island)– Wikkerink, Steven

Bow Island, the County of Forty Mile, and Foremost have two trustee seats for Prairie Rose School Divisions and both are being awarded by acclamation:
Ward 5:  Bow Island, Burdett and area (1 vacancy) – Stuart Angle (Incumbent)
Ward 6: Foremost, Manyberries and area (1 vacancy) – Stacy Hammel
Ward 5 (Bow Island and Taber) – Bremner, Patricia

Leave a Reply

Get More Bow Island Commentator
Log In To Comment Latest Paper Subscribe